Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.


Chair, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

Sir Michael is chairman of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA), being appointed to the post on 1st December 2014.  He is a clinical pharmacologist and specialist in internal medicine.  He was professor of clinical pharmacology in Newcastle and physician at the Newcastle Hospitals from 1999 to 2006.

He was chairman of the Committee on Safety of Medicines (1992-1998), chairman of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs (1998-2008), and founding chairman of the National Institute for Clinical Excellence (1999-2013). He is the recent past president of the Royal Society of Medicine (2012-2014).

Currently, Sir Michael is Chairman of UK Biobank, honorary professor at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and emeritus professor at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.


Flyer (in PDF)